Being Pregnant and Keeping Fit

12 Dec

Swimming at 4 months pregnant with 2 and a half year old son

I have always been an active person since I was small. I was better at Netball than any other sports I have participated in. Maybe it was because my mother had been playing it too right until she passed away at the age of 57. That was many years! It got more challenging for me when I was representing the University for Netball. There was running a few kilometers a day, a few days a week and more training to improve our stamina. It was torturing at first but I grew to like it a lot. I became adrenaline junkie for a while.

I started working immediately after graduation and nothing could stop me then. I was running twice a week. On the days I was not running, I’d be either swimming, at the gym, wall climbing, yoga, playing futsal or on some islands doing scuba-diving. I had to make sure that I would not be sucked into the Metropolitan Corporate Executive lifestyle where you spend like at least 2 hours on the road commuting to your work place, work extra hours, proud for not utilizing Annual Leaves and Sick Leaves and all you talk about with your friends is WORK. Oh well, that will need for another Post of itself.

Riding water slides at 4 months pregnant

Things were not beds of roses for me. I had a miscarriage at 7 weeks for my first pregnancy after coming back from backpacking in Europe. It was a good reminder for me to slow things down and read more about pregnancy. Not just being pregnant but I have decided to be a beautiful, radiant, graceful and a healthy pregger. This needs an action plan. How did I do it?

Before getting pregnant for the 2nd time, I did a lot of reading and ate my folic acid supplement. Once I got pregnant, I became a couch potato during the 1st trimester. My family and friends had to remind me to slower down my walking pace and rest a lot. I quit my gym and a few other high-impact sports too. Yoga and swimming were put on hold until I got into my 2nd trimester. When I was 4 months pregnant, I followed my hubby for his underwater video assignment in Pulau Tioman, Pahang. It was a bliss and refreshing for my soul. I went to Pulau Mabul, Sabah when I was about 7 months pregnant. Of course I just snorkeled and no scuba diving for me for at least 18 months since I got pregnant. I swam a lot especially with my dear girlfriend Assya who was pregnant about the same time as me. We continued practicing yoga too at Kevala Centre with Dr. Dilip – Doctor Treats, Nature Heals. He was very nice and we benefited a lot from his classes. My weight was within the limit, I did not suffer from any back problem or water retention and I slept like a baby. From 2nd trimester onwards, I also made sure that I eat my obimin supplement everyday and go for massage session every month to improve my blood circulation.

My yoga for pregnancy book

For my 2nd pregnancy, I did not have much time to snorkel or swim but I was very determine to practice my yoga on my own at home.  I use this Yoga book as guideline since my 1st pregnancy. My husband helped me in downloading all those Yoga for Pregnancy videos for Trimester 1, 2 and 3. Not forgetting Post-natal yoga too which I started practicing 2 weeks after delivery. I am a working from home mum now and managing work, house and a 3 year old son can be quite a challenge. Since I’m not getting any younger either, I have added a few more supplements during my second pregnancy. That would be Calcium and Neurogain for preggers. That is why keeping fit, healthy and pretty during pregnancy is very important to me.

I simply had to get onto the water slides when I had the opportunity when I was 4 months pregnant with my second baby. On my 40th week, I just had to kaypoh and tagged along my hubby underwater portraiture job in a swimming pool. I assisted him many times during this 2nd pregnancy but this time I wanted to jump into the pool with Aufa. This is how we looked like underwater. Moral of the story? Have fun and enjoy your pregnancy. Read more of my home water birth here from my Motivation, the Birth and Drama in the hospital.

Aufa and Me swimming at 40 weeks pregnant

3 Responses to “Being Pregnant and Keeping Fit”

  1. fei December 12, 2011 at 4:07 pm #

    I pun suka

  2. Nik Faizah December 12, 2011 at 2:38 pm #

    I like..keep on writing..

    • kureen December 12, 2011 at 3:59 pm #

      Thanks Faizah! You rock 🙂

Share with me your thoughts

