Part 1 – Motivation and Support

3 Oct

Aufa was born

I always have this idea of having water birth since I was pregnant with my 1st kid. My hubby & I are scuba divers and we spent almost every other weekend and holidays at Malaysian Islands. Read more about this self-confessed underwater breathing addict 2 pregnancies here.

I was in labor for 24 hours after I was induced for my 1st pregnancy. I was very adamant about having natural birth but I had to give in to several anesthetics including epidural. After 41 weeks and 3 days baking in my tummy, my son Aufa was born on 21 October 2008 at Subang Jaya Medical Centre. He was 4.2kg. I was really exhausted and lost a lot of blood. Later made me think to seek other options and have a better experience with my next pregnancy.

Crawling in Gymboree Tunnel

The moment I got pregnant with my 2nd kid, the maternal instinct kicked-in straight away and I started reading as well as asking around mothers who had gentle birth. Drug free and with the least intervention. I always like the idea of my own hubby receiving our own baby. It is not a norm in Malaysia for the husbands to receive their own baby. Thanks to Facebook, I got in touch with my family friend of 30 years, Nadine Ghows. She had homebirth for her 2nd kid and I read her inspiring story at Hypnobirthing Malaysia website. I shed tears while reading it and thought it was really beautiful. Met up with her and a few other parents who had homebirth/unassisted birth. I shared the idea of having home water birth with hubby but he was not so keen about the idea, mainly due to safety reasons. I read Hypnobirthing The Mongan Method book by Marie Mongan nevertheless and read and watch video more online about home water birth.

As my EDD was approaching and my hubby’s workload decreasing, I shared the idea again with my hubby about having home water birth. This time he was more receptive and made me a bit nervous. I made him read the Hypnobirthing book (which I ended up reading to him the summary) and couple of blogs and YouTube. We met up with Nadine and Dean on my 40th week for encouragement and support. We discussed about it every day on the checklist and ‘what-ifs’. I visualized the whole process in my head all the time and making sure that all the stuff needed was ready. By then I could feel the endorphin pumping thru my veins. All I needed most was my best friend who is also my hubby to be confident and be IN this thing together.

Kuna getting ready for some actions

Ezu the photographer

On my 41st week, I informed my sisters of my ‘crazy’ idea and asked them to get ready with their ‘hospital bag’. I was not sure whether they were surprised or expected that I’d be doing this kind of stuff but I was pretty sure that they were excited to welcome the 1st granddaughter into our family. My elder sister, Kuna has given birth twice and always been supportive of gentle birth. My younger sister, Ezu has always been a loving and kind soul. She was assigned to capturing those magical moments.

6 Responses to “Part 1 – Motivation and Support”

  1. Faizah Kamel October 3, 2011 at 11:06 pm #

    Speechless* If I’m not mistaken Dr Halena (wife shaikh muzaffar) did the same procedure. Good one! Can’t wait for the 2nd part 🙂

    • kureen October 4, 2011 at 5:24 pm #

      Oh yes they did Faizah, dekat Hospital Pantai a week after Ayfaa was born. Stay tune for more of my Hippie stuff 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. First it was pool water birth and now is ‘sea’ water birth | Happy Hippie Avenue - July 16, 2014

    […] The details are important and do not just leave things to the doctors to decide for you. Read here for my motivation and preparation for water birth. I still met up with Nadine for revision session […]

  2. Part 3: Drama in the hospital « Happy Hippie Avenue - December 14, 2012

    […] drama, going to the hospital. Remember to read Part 1 and Part 2 of my home water birth if you have missed it. We waited for about 4 hours before we made […]

  3. My Baby Sister got Hitched :) « Happy Hippie Avenue - August 10, 2012

    […] sisterhood bond. You would never understand it unless you are in it. I’m the 2nd child in the family with a […]

  4. Challenges for Working From Home Mom who ‘works’ for her husband « Happy Hippie Avenue - April 10, 2012

    […] engaged one a month before I gave birth to my beautiful princess, Ayfaa. Read more about our Home Water Birth experience here. From then onwards, business has been picking up and being a Personal Assistant to Ariffin Aris […]

Share with me your thoughts

